Topic Ideas

Some of my ideas for 3D lanscapes have been discussed through out my blogging, as i start to make my mind up i think about the pros and cons of each of my topic ideas. I need to make sure what im creating is not only achievable but conceptually strong. Some of the ideas I’ve looked into are just unachievable for me on my own, after looking into individuals work i’ve seen allot of simpler 3D with more complex matte painting and other more complex shading and texturing. Some of the ideas i have for my project are:

Topic Idea 1: Inside an object.

This is my first idea for the project its for me to have my landscape with in an object like a bottel or coffe cup like you’ve seen in my previous blogs. The idea came to me when researching other types of 3D landscapes and i saw the “coffee city” this was instantly a big favourite of mine for 3D landscapes as it was so simple yet clean and flawless. I was thinking of other things i could have my landscape with in and i thought about the bottom of a dirty glass or mug where the molde grows i could create a jungle like landscape. This was just one idea sparking of the concept of a landscape with in an object, this could be adapted in many ways.

Topic Idea 2: Landscape Background.

This idea was to have the landscape out of main shot like for example out of a window, this then ment that i could have the landscape out the window with someone standing in front of it. I think this would bring a different feel to the design of the landscape. For example i could have a silhouette in front of the window and in front of him i could have the landscape.

Topic Idea 3: Character In The Environment.

The third idea was to create a character and have him laying on his back and the landscape growing off him. This would then combine my passion for both character animation and the set brief for landscape. The idea would be interesting for me to try and complete unfortunately i feel this task could be a very time consuming one. I will keep furthering my ideas until i get a final result that both me and pete are happy with.

These are just three topic ideas for the 3D project that i will have completed by january. Hopefully all will go well as i continue to experiment within Houdini.

 

Leave a comment