Making My Idea have Meaning,

For my visual effects piece i wanted to make it have some meaning, so that there was reason for me to create it other than the brief. After that i then began thinking about what words i can link to my project i came across a few but the words that stranded out to me most were “passion, indifference and drive.” these words stood out for my peice as the man lacks these words.

After thinking about my piece and how i could make it relevant i then began looking into film competitions and how i could create some work and get it recognised in the film world. I then found the reed festival and there was a film competition on for a film less than 3 minuets and the word the competition was based on was ambition and this word was absolutely perfect for my idea. The word associated with my man as it was something he lack just like the words i related to him earlier.

My idea then started developing so that i could fill both my visual brief and the word ambition. My idea was to create 2 videos one 30 seconds-ish and the other about 2 minuets so that i can hit both targets and get my self some external criticism. I think this would be a good idea for my second year project but ill have to talk with my tutor and see his views.

Link to reed competition:

http://www.reed.co.uk/film

Leave a comment